Embracing…
… my experiences in India

Why Treepu?

My employment in England consisted of a wide range of social care jobs and having been in the field for 8 years, I was feeling burnt out.

With the prospect of moving to India in July 2007 for my partner’s research job, I thought I would take the opportunity to try something different, but I didn’t know what that something different was going to be…

…then Facebook came to the rescue!

I was made an offer via Facebook to become a part-time blogger for the Treepu project, which I accepted with some curiosity.

Since September 2007, I have been initiated into the world of blogs, social media and on-line community building by Labsji.

And here I am; learning a lot, making mistakes and enjoying the successes. It has been and continues to be a process of figuring my way through the world of shameless self-promotion, social objects, mashups and link-love 🙂

On the plus side – I work part-time from home which leaves plenty of time for other activities like mediation and yoga. I am prompted to attend events, form opinions and post them on my blog which has been good brain stimulation for me, it makes sure I don’t get too lazy contemplating cups of tea!

On the down side – It can be lonely work staring at my PC all morning, I’m used to busy working environments, there’s no one nearby to hear my groans of frustration or yelps of excitement.

It certainly is something different, no mention here of setting up care-plans, preparing for government inspections or dealing with the bureaucratic benefit system like I did in the UK.

It suits me for now.

How do you think I’m doing?

No Responses to “Why Treepu?”

Leave a Reply

