Embracing…
… my experiences in India

Enough Already

Since attending SearchCamp last weekend I have managed to clarify my position.

I was immersed into a world of marketing, money and profits which is most unfamiliar and uncomfortable for me. It knocked me sideways.

In my morning meditation today, I read a line from Lao Tsu’s Tao te Ching:

He who knows he has enough is rich.

This sums up how I want to live my life.

When I looked around the auditorium on Saturday at SearchCamp, I saw over 400 people spending their weekend discussing how to make more money.

Given the choice between Daddy or more money, I think the children of these guys would have prefered to have their Dad at home last weekend.

Money and power are such a huge distractions, people often miss the very beauty of being alive, being together and being themselves. Money or no money.

During my time in India I am practicing simplifying my life. I am purposefully not busying myself with a million commitments to justify my existence in this world. I am practising the art of being idle, with a little help from Facebook. 😉

It is difficult. I find myself thinking I should be doing more. The protestant work ethic which drives so many of us is very hard to put down.

I have got a wonderful opportunity to just be, to be me without the pressures and responsibilities that go along with a full time career and I’m trying to lean into it.

One Response to “Enough Already”

  1. Hey nice blog…
    I enrolled my name to attend the searchcamp but eventually i had to drop it because i had to do a couple of quiz shows in two colleges..
    What you said regarding making money and not making life is absolutely true… 90 % of the people in this world run behind money and fame…and they realise it pretty late in their life…

    Hope some people do it early in life..


Leave a Reply

