Embracing…
… my experiences in India

What Makes a Good Yoga Teacher?


Having practiced yoga since 2000, I felt I was ready to become a yoga teacher. I found Dr Hema at the Indian Institute for Yoga in Chennai and decided to take their Yoga Teacher Training and Yoga Therapy course.

I graduated as a Yoga Teacher yesterday.

Now I’m asking myself: “What makes a good yoga teacher?”

  •  Pitching to class to the correct level of the students.
  • Informing students of the benefits of each asana.
  • Incorporating pranayama, asana and dhyana in each class.
  • Cultivating a non-competitive and accepting attitude in students.
  • Enabling and encouraging students to practice out of class.
  • Giving students a pathway whereby they can improve their yoga.

What do you look for in a Yoga Teacher?

2 Responses to “What Makes a Good Yoga Teacher?”

  1. a good yoga teacher is always a student, for the rest of their life!


Leave a Reply

